RSS

Equipment Review: Lumintop IYP365

07 Sep

Hi again folks – we’ve got a few more light reviews on the way. A couple months back Lumintop sent me the IYP265. Because I’ve been, more and more, getting flashlights in that simply aren’t the typical “workhorse handlight/headlight” type that I so often review, it would be somewhat unfair to compare them with these lights by doing my typical review style. That said, I’m going to keep the 100-point review system I have in place for normal lights, and just do a review and thoughts for some of the more niche or novelty flashlights I get for review. This light was graciously provided by Lumintop in China, on the condition that I give it an honest review, so here goes…

 

Pros:

The IYP is a good looking light – I was happy about that, because the last Lumintop light I reviewed did not share that distinction (https://fieldventures.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/equipment-review-lumintop-td16/) – but this one is beautiful… Fancy-pantsy even – which is a colloquialism I don’t typically apply to flashlight. It’s got a anodized matte-black finish, which is lovely, and two gold-plated spacer rings that make for a very nice touch. It also has a clip that isn’t impossibly difficult to put to practical use (it’s a common problem in the flashlight world). Lumintop definitely did some good work with looks on this one. Finally, it’s got a click-switch (always better than a twist on/off), with one important feature: this one is stainless steel, and when compared to a typical rubberized click-switch, I like it a lot. I’m actually surprised they were able to make the unit waterproof with this click switch (but evidently they did.)

I have a love/hate relationship with AAA’s, so I’ll actually be including them in both the ‘Pros’ and ‘Cons’ – they’re a ‘Pro’ because they’re widely available, they’re a “con” because they’re not as cheap, and it can be a drag to but them when everything else you have runs off of AA’s. Finally, it’s a bright light, considering it’s power source and size. The reflector is well made for a wide variety of application – it makes the beam tight enough to give some decent throw, but doesn’t have too much spot – the IYP reaches a good balance. The price point on this light is also great – $25 on Amazon currently – it’s hard to beat!

 

 

Cons:

For what the light is, and what intends to do, the IYP365 doesn’t have many cons. Like it’s little brother the Lumintop Tool AAA (https://fieldventures.wordpress.com/2015/11/25/equipment-review-lumintop-tool-aaa/), it shouldn’t be expected to be your main light; but it’ll make a good secondary. Like I said before, AAA’s are a blessing and a curse for me – in my view, making the IYP run off AA’s would’ve made for a brighter light with only minimal added width, but this is only a problem if you’re as nit-picky as I am, and even then it’s only a miniscule one and it only lasts until you shell out the cash for some rechargeable AAA’s. The only other con is that with such a pretty flashlight, it can easily be made un-pretty with a good amount of time in one’s pocket, a few drops, etc. So far, I’ve kept mind looking great, but it is a consideration if you’re tough on your stuff.

 

What it’s good for:

The IYP365, in many ways an upgrade from the Tool AAA (with twice as much light), is a good light to keep around for an emergency – in a glove box, in a field bag, in your pocket, by the front door to walk your dog at night. I keep mine in my iPad case, so it’s always there when I need it.

 

What it’s not:

Don’t expect more than it was made for – this is a good light, but don’t expect it to be your main light for night exploits.

 

Conclusion

Lumintop is really trying to be a successful up-and-comer in the flashlight world – and from my view, they are succeeding. It seems that, so far, they’re doing their best work with niche lights like this little IYP365, and I look forward to see what they come up with in the future.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 07/09/2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
