RSS

Lifelist: Red Salamander (Pseudotriton ruber)

10 Oct

 

 

 

Country: USA

State: Georgia

County: Walker

Date: Oct 8, 2012

Co-herpers: Don Filipiak

Notes: Going back to just about a year ago (Almost to the day, I think). Don Filipiak and I were at Pigeon Mountain in Georgia. The previous night we had nearly missed out on the Pigeon Mountain Salamander (Plethodon petraeus) but the supernatural herping skills of Daniel Dye led us to one. Dan left us that evening and Don and I went to flip a small stream the next morning. This was a species I had always wanted to see, I would almost call it a White Whale, but in reality I hadn’t searched quite hard enough for it to consider it as such. Nevertheless, I was ecstatic when I flipped a stream-side rock to see this flash of red.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 10/10/2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
