RSS

A Brief Introduction

31 Mar

Hello Everyone,

Now; I have a slight aversion to ‘blogging’ because I have in the past (perhaps accurately) only associated such things with whiny emo pity-fests or a self absorbed “everybody care about my life” dissertation.

I’m not really about that: if someone really wants updates on my life and what deep thought I have about the nature of the universe and the cereal I was eating while it came to me, they can ask face to face. . . What I do intend to jot down; however, is some of the stunning array of animal and plant life, geography and pictures I happen upon during my ventures on God’s green, fertile Earth. Now, in the interest of full disclosure most of my field outings focus primarily on Reptiles and Amphibians, but I am becoming increasingly interested in the full gambit of things encountered out in nature – so I’ll do my best to include them as well.

What you’ll also find on here is some reviews of equipment I use in the field. I’m doing this because it’s the kind of thing I enjoy reading, and because it’s nice to be well prepared for whatever outing you embark upon. Can one be satisfied with a walk in the woods alone at night with only their person and the clothes on their back? Of course – but there’s also a time for camera, tents and lighting equipment. It’s all about seasons…

To kick it off, here’s a Green Tree Frog (Hyla cinerea) my wife Rebekah and I encountered on a cold late December night in Ocala National Forest.

Peace,

-Josh

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 31/03/2011 in Ecological Musing

 

8 responses to “A Brief Introduction

  1. Tamara Ducote

    30/04/2011 at 1:53 am

    I am anticipating reading more posts! This looks exciting!

     
  2. Tim Borski

    30/04/2011 at 12:42 pm

    Bring it.

     
  3. Josh

    30/04/2011 at 12:58 pm

    It’s gon’ be brung.

     
  4. Daniel D. Dye

    07/05/2011 at 1:26 am

    I’m in, bring it on.

     
  5. Janson Jones

    14/07/2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hope you push on with the blog– I know I’m one reader eager to hear your views and read of your experiences with both the equipment and the animals. I also appreciate the time you’ve taken commenting on my blog. It’s much appreciated.

    A question: have you worked much with south Florida anoles, outside of A. c. carolinensis and A. s. sagrei? I’m curious if you’ve observed any bark anoles (A. distichus) or Cuban green anoles (A. porcatus) while working in the Glades. Given the time you’ve spent in the Glades with Burmese pythons, I thought you might have some crossover, though those lizards are wee tiny in contrast to your main focus!

    Thanks again,

    – janson

     
    • Josh

      14/07/2011 at 7:55 pm

      Bark anoles show up periodically on the West Coast (Fort Meyers I think?) but most of the exotic anoles are more things you’ll find in Miami-Dade Parks (Crandon Park comes to mind.) I’m the president of the South Florida Herp Society and we’ve done an exotic lizard catching field trip once or twice, but sadly I’m not as well versed on anoles as I should be. What did you want to know?

      Glad you enjoyed,

      -Josh

       
  6. Josh

    14/07/2011 at 7:59 pm

    Edit to last post: all that lizard stuff doesn’t apply to chameleons. I’ve done a lot of research on the Florida populations.

     
  7. Janson Jones

    14/07/2011 at 9:00 pm

    Just a heavy curiosity with the anoles. I dig ’em and haven’t really ever done much hard searching for them in the Glades or Big Cypress. Miami-Dade and Monroe (Keys) are certainly chock full of introduced anole species. Just curious to see if their spreading pattern parallels the green iguana’s and sticks to the coastal regions, though anoles *should* be more adaptable to inland terrain than their larger relatives. Especially bark anoles. Of the tertiary anole species, they seem to do best while being flanked by Carolina greens from above and Cuban browns from below. With the veracity, adaptability, and tenaciousness of the Cuban brown anole (which I’ve seen plenty, plenty of in the Glades and Big Cypress), I’m not sure whether or not any of the other trunk/ground or trunk anoles have much of a chance to expand. It would be interesting to find an Anolis survey in the Glades and/or Big Cypress.

    Your oustalet’s chameleon stuff looks fantastic, by the way! I’d love to see and photograph one of those… (Insert JEALOUSY)

    ~ janson

     

Leave a Reply

 
